By Shawn P. Hooks   |   March 25th, 2009

seat_boost.jpgOn January 6, 2009, Governor Strickland signed Sub. H.B. 320.  This new law requires children between the ages of four and eight and under 4’9″ tall to be restrained by booster seats.  The law provides that this is a secondary offense, requiring the driver to be stopped for another reason before a citation may be issued.  The law goes into effect on April 6, 2009.  Warnings will be issued for six months before fines, ranging from $25 to $75, can be imposed.  Governor Strickland is seeking to increase those fines to between $50 and $100 in his proposed budget. Thanks to our friends at the Cleveland Law Library Weblog for posting this summary! To learn more about the new law, click here.

© 2009 – 2011, Ohio Family Law Blog. All rights reserved. This feed is for personal, non-commercial use only. The use of this feed on other websites breaches copyright. If this content is not in your news reader, it makes the page you are viewing an infringement of the copyright.

About The Author: Shawn P. Hooks

Ohio Enacts New Booster Seat Law
Tagged on:

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: